A tip for organising apps on iOS

img_0834

I’m not sure how I came about finding this tip. Maybe I figured it out myself! I honestly can’t remember, but since I’ve been doing this, my phone has been a lot more organised. My apps are much easier to find, and everything looks clean and tidy and clutter-free!

This tip is about taking advantage of a cool feature built inside iOS which automatically puts your apps into categories. I find that 90% of the time it works a treat. You don’t have to follow it, but it’s a useful guideline in helping you have a super-organised iPhone!

Where to begin:

  1. Have a look on your phone screen. You might see apps all over the place at the moment, but there is one app in particular which is going to help you get your phone in order! The app you need is built-in to iOS and it’s called ‘Tips’.
    Found it? Good! You’re ready to move on to the next step.
  2. Think of ‘Tips’ as an app consultant… a guru of which app goes where. Funnily enough, you don’t actually need to open it! Just keep this app in mind and read on.
  3. The next step is to have the first page of your home screen look like it does when you first get your iPhone. I find this works well, and it’s a good way to access your essentials quickly and easily. To do this, I went on to apple.com and found an up-to-date image of the iOS home screen to use as a reference.
  4. You don’t have to do the next step but I found it a good idea. And that is, remove every app from its current folder, therefore removing all folders from the phone! This is temporary of course, as you will see when you read on. It also means that you won’t have any duplicate folders when we’re done! 
  5. You’re ready to make a start! Pick your first app and drag it onto the ‘Tips’ app icon. Once it’s been moved over, it should create a new folder with a category name which is hopefully perfect for that app! Sometimes, when it doesn’t know what category is best, it will just put the app in a folder called ‘Folder’. Most of the time this method works well, but on occasion you might not agree with its decision, and that’s fine! You can choose to put the app wherever you like, or create a new category if needed. For example, I found that I needed to create a ‘Retail’ category for all my reward card and shopping apps.
  6. Exit the new folder and wait about 10 seconds. Now go back and remove the Tips icon. It should keep the folder there on your home screen.
  7. Repeat step 5 until you have a very organised phone!

Extra:

  • Once you have all your folders made, try alphabetising them. This will help you to find the category you need a bit quicker!
  • Remember to keep your home screen as it was when you first got your iPhone. All the folders that you make from using this tutorial should go on the screen after! There are a couple of exceptions to this: I keep my iCloud Drive icon on the home screen for quick reference. The ‘Tips’ app you’ve just been using can also go there so it can be easily found when you need to organise any apps in the future!
  • Keep your home screen background a plain colour to enhance the tidiness, and use a more interesting wallpaper for your lock screen.

I hope this has helped you to have a more organised iPhone! I’ve kept my phone this way for a few months now so it definitely works for me and I hope it works for you, too!

Please leave a comment and let me know what you thought of this tip, or tell me what works for you!

 

digital-sig-3

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

